BEA Awards for Nigerians to Study Abroad

The Nigerian Federal Ministry of Education is offering the Bilateral Education Agreement (BEA) Awards for Nigerians to study abroad.

This article provides a comprehensive guide on how to apply for the BEA Awards, the benefits it offers, and answers common questions about the program.

The Purpose of BEA Awards

The BEA Division of the Federal Scholarship Board (FSB) is responsible for implementing scholarship awards between the Federal Government of Nigeria and countries that have signed Bilateral Education Agreements with Nigeria. The goal is to use education to develop Nigerian citizens and contribute to the nation’s progress.

Benefits of BEA Awards

The federal government of Nigeria allocates N73,169,907 for scholarships, benefiting 3,700 students in Nigerian universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education. Additionally, 272 students receive scholarships to study in foreign countries that have a Bilateral Education Agreement with Nigeria. The total budget for scholarships to study abroad is N13,000,000.

Application Deadline and Eligibility

The application deadline for the BEA Awards is in January of each year. To be eligible for the scholarship, applicants must meet specific criteria based on their academic level.

Undergraduate Scholarships

For undergraduate degree programs, applicants must have a minimum of five distinctions (As & Bs) in relevant subjects, including English Language and Mathematics. The certificates should not be more than two years old, except for African countries where the age limit is one year. The age range for applicants is 18 to 20 years.

Postgraduate Scholarships

Postgraduate applicants must have a first-class (1st) degree with at least a second-class upper division. Previous recipients of foreign awards must have completed at least two years of post-qualification or employment practice in Nigeria. The age limit for postgraduate scholarships is 35 years for Masters and 40 years for Ph.D. applicants. Applicants must have completed the National Youth Service Corps (N.Y.S.C.), and N.Y.S.C. discharge or exemption certificates are accepted.

Fields of Study

The BEA scholarships are available for undergraduate and postgraduate programs in various fields. Some of the fields include Engineering, Geology, Agriculture, Sciences, Mathematics, Languages, Environmental Sciences, Sports, Law, Social Sciences, Biotechnology, Architecture, and limited slots for Medicine. All fields are open for postgraduate studies at the Masters and Ph.D. levels.

Language Course and Specific Requirements

Since the BEA countries are non-English speaking, applicants should be prepared to undertake a mandatory one-year foreign language course in their chosen country. Applicants for the Japanese scholarship must have a strong background in further mathematics. For the Iman Preachers and Quranic Professor scholarship in Algeria, WAEC certificates are required. Hungarian scholarship applicants can apply for up to two fields of study in order of preference, and they must visit the website for the application process.

Host Nationality and Eligibility

The bilateral scholarships are tenable in several countries, including Russia, Morocco, Algeria, Serbia, Hungary, Egypt, Turkey, Cuba, Romania, Ukraine, Japan, Macedonia, China, Mexico, South Korea, and more. The BEA awards scholarship is open to Nigerian citizens or international students residing in Nigeria.

How to Apply for BEA Awards

To apply for the BEA Awards, candidates need to submit two sets of completed application forms at the various JAMB CBT centers. The application should be accompanied by photocopies of educational certificates and testimonials, birth certificate, state of origin/LGA certificate, passport-sizedĀ 

photographs, and for postgraduate applicants, academic transcripts and NYSC discharge or exemption certificates.

Interview and Submission

All eligible applicants are required to attend an interview at the scheduled venues for accreditation one day prior to the examination date. Candidates nominated by the Board will need to submit authenticated copies of academic certificates, the data page of the current international passport, and specified medical reports from government hospitals to the Federal Scholarship Board.

Scholarship Link

For more information and to access the scholarship application, visit the provided scholarship link.

In conclusion, the BEA Awards for Nigerians to study abroad offer valuable opportunities for Nigerian citizens to pursue undergraduate and postgraduate programs in various fields.

By meeting the eligibility criteria and submitting the required documents, applicants can apply for these scholarships and pursue their educational goals in countries with bilateral agreements with Nigeria.

You May Also Like