University of Ghana Legon grading system


University of Ghana Legon grading system ranks the students studying in the institution making them able to know how they performed at the end of every study period.

[the_ad id=”1567″]

Legon grading is a bit unique from most of the educational systems in Ghana for it uses Cumulative Grade Point Average while most of the other institutions use Grade point average system.

University of Ghana Legon grading system?

Here is the trick!

Grade Point (GP): Each Grade is assigned an equivalent grade point as indicated above. The number of (grade) points earned by a student, for each course completed, is computed as the product of the number of credits for the course and the grade point equivalent letter of the grade obtained in that course.
Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA): The student’s cumulative grade point average is calculated by dividing the total number of grade points obtained, up to any specified time, by the total number for credits of all courses for which the student has registered up to that time.
Final Grade Point Average (FGPA): The FGPA is the CGPA for all courses under consideration calculated up to the end of a student’s academic program.

Differences between Grades, University of Ghana Legon grading system?

• A and B+; B+ and B; B and C+: the differences are at the cognitive,
linguistic and organizational levels
• C+ and C; C and D+; D+ and D: the differences are at the cognitive and
organizational levels
ii. Allocation of Marks
Departments should determine the allocation of marks to the three
components, namely content, presentation/organization and expression as

University of Ghana Legon new grading system definition?
  1. First Class – the range of FGPA is 3.60 to 4.00
  2. Second Class, Upper Division – the range of FGPA is 3.00 to 3.59
  3. Second Class, Lower Division – the range of FGPA is 2.00 to 2.99
  4. Third Class – the range of FGPA is 1.50 to 1.99
  5. Pass – the range of FGPA is 1.00 to 1.49
  6. Fail – the range of FGPA is 0.00 to 0.99

To compute the FGPA, you need level 100 that is inclusive of the University as well as the school courses required. The Grade Point Averages (GPAs) are from level 100-400 and they are weighted as 1:1:2:2. Below is the full scheme for that classification; it includes the class of degree and the range of Final Grade Point Average.

For the presentation of the degree, the institution follows section 32. The section states that the Bachelor of Degree can only be awarded to the qualified students in a congregation assembled for that reason or purpose. That Bachelor Degree awarded usually indicates the subjects that the student was offered as well as the awarded class.

DEFINITION OF GRADES? Here is the overview
21.1 Pass Grades:
 Grades A to D constitute Pass grades.
21.2 Failure Grades: Grades E, F, X, Z constitute Failure grades.
21.3 Continuing: A grade Y (for Continuing) shall be awarded at the end of a semester to any student who is taking a course that continues into the next semester.
21.4 Audit: A grade AUDI shall be awarded for attendance at lectures where no examination is taken, or where an examination is taken, but no mark can be returned, for good reasons. The Grade AUDI is not taken into account in the calculation of the FGPA.
21.5 Non-Completion of Course:
i. A grade I (for Incomplete) shall be awarded to a student who is unable to complete a course for reasons adjudged by the Board of Examiners as satisfactory. Such a student shall be expected to complete the course the very next time the course is available.
ii. A grade X shall be awarded to a student who is unable to complete a course for reasons adjudged by the Board of Examiners as unsatisfactory.
21.6 Disqualification:
i. A grade Z denotes Disqualification from an examination as a result of examination malpractice or offense and shall be awarded whenever it is established that a candidate had attempted to gain an unfair advantage in an examination, be it in a Principal subject or an Ancillary or any other paper.
ii. A candidate awarded a grade Z may be debarred from taking a University Examination for a stated period, or indefinitely, or may be expelled from the university altogether.
iii. A grade Z may be awarded only by the Board of Examiners.

Share your thoughts with US!

Read more here

Still confused visit here