National science and maths quiz updates


2020 National science and maths quiz, latest news updates

This year’s just-ended National Science and Maths Quiz(NSMQ) proved to be yet another thriller of a roller coaster ride that gripped many.

This list which is made up of 27 seeded schools is dominated by quarter-finalist of the 2021 edition

The seeded schools will not take part in the preliminary round from June, 2020 at the University of Ghana, but will make it directly into the 1/8 stage for a place in the quarter finals

2020 NSMQ

Greater Region
1 Accra Academy
2 St. John’s Grammer School
3 Presbyterian Boys’ SHS
4 Chemu SHS
5 Achimota School

Central Region
1 St. Augustine’s College
2 Wesley Girls High Sch
3 Adisadel College
4 University Practice SHS
5 Boa-Apmonsam SHS

Western Region
1 Ghana Sec Tech School
2 Takoradi SHS
3 St Johns School

Eastern Region
1 St. Peter’s SHS
2 Pope Johns SHS
3 Oti Boateng SHS

Ashanti Region
2 Prempeh College
3 Tepa SHS
4 Kumasi Academy
5 Opoku Ware School
6 Obuasi SHS

Volta Region
1 Keta SHTS
2 Kpando SHS

Northern Region
1 Tamale SHS
2 Ghana SHS, Tamale

Upper West
1 St Ignatius of Loyola SHS

The 2021 final battle-2020 National science and maths quiz

At the end, only three schools were left to battle for the ultimate trophy; St. Augustine’s College (Augusco), Presec Legon and St. Peter’s SHS. With my school out, I did not have to feel nervous watching the competition live on TV because I had no particular emotional investment in any of the schools. But all throughout the competition, I had nothing but admiration for the young contestants who appeared very composed in the face of the huge, noisy crowds and television cameras. Not many adults have that mental agility.

When the dust settled, Augusco was left holding the cup, towering over the bloodied carcasses of the other two schools strewn across the stage of the National Theatre. And since success has many relatives, let me quickly establish that OWASS and Augusco are brothers. Aside both being Catholic schools, the first three African headmasters of OWASS were products of Augusco, as were three of our most-respected senior housemasters. On that happy note, this column wishes to congratulate my Augusco brothers most heartily.

2020 NSMQ

Twenty-seven schools have automatically qualified for the 2020 National Science and Math Quiz (NSMQ).

2020 National science and maths quiz

The schools were the quarter-finalists in the 2021 edition, which saw St Augustine’s College beat PRESEC-Legon and St Peter’s SHS to the title.

Losing finalists and record winners Presbyterian Boys’ SHS will lead Greater Accra Region’s charge. They will be joined by Accra Academy, Achimota School, Chemu SHS and St John’s Grammar.

Central Region will have the winners, Augusco, leading that region with Wesley Girls’ High School, Adisadel College, University Practice SHS and Boa Amponsem SHS automatically joining them in next year’s contest.

Opoku Ware School, Prempeh College, Kumasi Academy and Oti Boateng SHS are among the Ashanti Region schools seeded. The rest are Obuasi SHS, TI AMASS and Tepa SHS, which won the Dr Kwaku Mensa Bonsu Award for the Best Less-Endowed School in 2021.

Volta Region has Keta SHTS and Kpando SHS as the only schools seeded from that region.

Takoradi SHS, GSTS and St. John’s School will represent the Western Region, pending the schools that will make it from the regional championships.

Tamale SHS and Ghana SHS will represent the Northern Region.

Past winners Pope John’s SHS will join St Peter’s as the Eastern Region schools seeded.

St Ignatius of Loyola have also been seeded and they are from the Upper West Region.

Conspicuously missing from the list include past winners Mfantsipim School, St Thomas Aquinas and 2018 sensation West Africa SHS.

The seeded schools will miss the preliminary round and will join at one-eighth stage.

The quiz competition will be held in June, 2020 at the University of Ghana, Legon.

2020 National science and maths quiz