Districts in Ghana 2023

people smiletimegh
people smiletimegh

Ghana is a beautiful West African country known for its diverse culture, hospitable people, and breathtaking natural scenery.

The country is divided into sixteen regions, each with its unique characteristics and attractions. Each region is also made up of several districts that play a significant role in the country’s governance, economy, and social development.

What is a District in Ghana?

In Ghana, a district is a subnational administrative unit that is responsible for local governance and development. The country is currently divided into 260 districts, each with its district assembly and a chief executive officer appointed by the president. The districts are further divided into smaller units such as sub-districts, town councils, and electoral areas.

History of Districts in Ghana

The concept of districts in Ghana can be traced back to the colonial era when the British established district councils to help administer the colony. The councils were dissolved after Ghana gained independence in 1957, and the country was divided into provinces. In 1988, the Local Government Law was enacted, leading to the creation of the District Assemblies and the re-establishment of districts as subnational administrative units.

Importance of Districts in Ghana

Districts play a critical role in Ghana’s development as they are responsible for implementing the government’s policies and programs at the local level. They are also responsible for providing basic services such as healthcare, education, sanitation, and water supply to the local population. Additionally, the districts are responsible for revenue generation and resource mobilization, which is essential for their development.

Characteristics of Districts in Ghana

Each district in Ghana has its unique characteristics that define it. However, some of the notable features of districts in Ghana include:

Administrative Structure

Each district in Ghana has a district assembly, which is the highest political and administrative authority in the district. The district assembly is responsible for the formulation and implementation of policies and programs at the local level.

Physical Features

Districts in Ghana are characterized by their physical features, such as natural resources, topography, and climate. For instance, districts in the coastal regions have sandy beaches and fishing communities, while those in the northern regions have savannah grasslands and wildlife.

Economic Activities

Districts in Ghana are known for their economic activities, which vary depending on the natural resources available in the district. Some of the common economic activities in districts in Ghana include agriculture, mining, tourism, and trade.

List of Districts in Ghana

Ghana is currently divided into 260 districts, each with its unique characteristics and features. Below is a list of the districts in Ghana, categorized by region:

Greater Accra Region

  • Accra Metropolitan District
  • Tema Metropolitan District
  • Ga East Municipal District
  • Ga West Municipal District
  • Ledzokuku-Krowor Municipal District
  • Ashaiman Municipal District
  • Adenta Municipal District
  • La Nkwantanang-Madina Municipal District
  • Ablekuma Central Municipal District
  • Ablekuma North Municipal District
  • Ayawaso Central Municipal District
  • Ayawaso East Municipal District
  • Ayawaso North Municipal District
  • Ayawaso West Municipal District
  • Okaikwei Municipal District
  • Ga South Municipal District
  • Weija-Gbawe Municipal District

Ashanti Region

  • Kumasi Metropolitan District
  • Asokore Mampong Municipal District
  • Ejisu Municipal District
  • Kwabre East Municipal District
  • Kwabre West Municipal District
  • Atwima Kwanwoma District
  • Atwima Nwabiagya Municipal District
  • Bosomtwe District
  • Afigya-Kwabre South District
  • Afigya-Kwabre North District
  • Bekwai Municipal District
  • Bosome Freho District
  • Sekyere East District
  • Sekyere Afram Plains District
  • Atwima Mponua District
  • Amansie West District
  • Amansie Central District
  • Adansi North District
  • Adansi South District
  • Asante Akim North Municipal District
  • Asante Akim South Municipal District

Brong Ahafo Region

  • Sunyani Municipal District
  • Tain District
  • Wenchi Municipal District
  • Techiman Municipal District
  • Dormaa Municipal District
  • Asunafo North Municipal District
  • Asunafo South District
  • Jaman South District
  • Jaman North District
  • Berekum Municipal District
  • Nkoranza North District
  • Nkoranza South District
  • Kintampo North Municipal District
  • Kintampo South Municipal District

Central Region

  • Cape Coast Metropolitan District
  • Abura/Asebu/Kwamankese District
  • Agona West Municipal District
  • Gomoa West District
  • Gomoa East District
  • Awutu Senya East Municipal District
  • Awutu Senya West Municipal District
  • Komenda/Edina/Eguafo/Abirem Municipal District
  • Mfantseman Municipal District
  • Assin North Municipal District
  • Assin South Municipal District
  • Ajumako/Enyan/Essiam District
  • Upper Denkyira East Municipal District
  • Upper Denkyira West Municipal District

Eastern Region

  • New Juaben Municipal District
  • Kwahu West Municipal District
  • Yilo Krobo Municipal District
  • Atiwa East District
  • Birim Central Municipal District
  • Birim North District
  • Birim South District
  • Akyemansa District
  • Kwahu East District
  • Kwahu South District
  • Kwahu Afram Plains South District
  • Suhum Municipal District
  • Akwapim South Municipal District
  • Upper Manya Krobo District
  • Lower Manya Krobo Municipal District

Northern Region

  • Tamale Metropolitan District
  • Sagnarigu Municipal District
  • Kumbungu District
  • Tolon District
  • Yendi Municipal District
  • East Gonja District
  • West Mamprusi District
  • Nanumba North Municipal District
  • Nanumba South District
  • Saboba District
  • Karaga District
  • Gushiegu Municipal District
  • Central Gonja District
  • Chereponi District
  • Gushegu District
  • Mion District
  • Savelugu Municipal District
  • Tatale Sanguli District

Upper East Region

  • Bolgatanga Municipal District
  • Bawku Municipal District
  • Kassena-Nankana Municipal District
  • Bongo District
  • Builsa North District
  • Builsa South District
  • Talensi District
  • Nabdam District
  • Pusiga District
  • Binduri District
  • Garu-Tempane District

Upper West Region

  • Wa Municipal District
  • Wa West District
  • Sissala West District
  • Sissala East District
  • Jirapa Municipal District
  • Lambussie Karni District
  • Lawra Municipal District
  • Nandom Municipal District
  • Daffiama Bussie Issa District
  • Wa East District
You May Also Like